ABC’s of Death Adds More Directors

Chris Savage

The ABC’s of Death is looking to be the biggest horror anthology of all time, but saying that will it be too much? As more often than not, less is more. I guess we shall see.

It looks as if a few more directors have joined up too unleash their segment, according to the guys over at DreadCentral we have; “Xavier Gens (Frontiers, The Divide) and Christopher Smith (Severance, Black Death, Triangle, Creep) along with Noburo Iguchi (RoboGeisha, Machine Girl), Kaare Andrews (Altitude), Yudai Yamaguchi (Battlefield Baseball), JT Petty (Soft for Digging, The Burrowers), and Anders Morgenthaler (Princess).”

This is shaping yp to be very promising, you can check out the previously confirmed list of directors in the press release below, via their official website.

“Drafthouse Films, Timpson Films and Magnet Releasing announced today that they will produce THE ABCs OF DEATH, a twenty-six chapter anthology feature that showcases death in all its vicious wonder and brutal beauty. Alamo Drafthouse CEO/Founder Tim League and Timspon Films CEO Ant Timpson will co-produce. Magnolia International will also handle all international sales. Production begins in June 2011, with completion slated for January 2012, six months, six weeks and six days later.

Twenty-five established directors and emerging new stars from all over the world are participating. The twenty-sixth director will be chosen as part of a worldwide competition to find a new filmmaking talent. Each director will be assigned a letter from the alphabet that represents a word to act as a springboard for a short story of death. It is up to each filmmaker to interpret the letter they are assigned to create a celebration of death from the accidental to murder most foul. The sum of these parts, from A to Z, will be THE ABCs OF DEATH.

The current list of confirmed participating directors includes:

Banjong Pisanthanakun (Shutter, Alone) Angela Bettis (Roman) Adrian Garcia Bogliano (Cold Sweat) Jason Eisener (Hobo With A Shotgun) Ernesto Diaz Espinoza (Mirageman) Bruno Forzani and Héléne Cattet (Amer) Gadi Harel (DeadGirl) Thomas Malling (Norwegian Ninja) Yoshihiro Nishimura (Tokyo Gore Police; Frankenstein Girl Vs. Vampire Girl) Simon Rumley (The Living and the Dead; Red, White and Blue) Tak Sakaguchi and Yuji Shimomura (Yakuza Weapon) Marcel Sarmiento (DeadGirl) Srdjan Spasojevic (A Serbian Film) Timo Tjahjanto (Macabre) Andrew Traucki (Black Water, The Reef) Nacho Vigalando (TimeCrimes) Jake West (Doghouse, Evil Aliens) Ti West (The House of the Devil, The Innkeepers) Ben Wheatley (Down Terrace, Kill List)

“Helming Fantastic Fest for the past seven years has brought us in touch with an amazing community of filmmaking talent. THE ABCs OF DEATH offers us a chance to work closely with a large number of visionary filmmakers to create a film with more jaw-dropping moments than a whole summer of blockbusters” says co-producer Tim League.

“This project was inspired by my young sons being introduced to the world through their ABCs books. The idea of subverting that format to reveal a study in all the dastardly and humorous ways a person can leave this world appealed on multiple levels. And it was somewhat fitting to learn that the earliest forms of the ABCs books actually did use fear of punishment to teach the young,” says co-producer Ant Timpson.

“I got to the letter A and said yes,” said Magnet SVP Tom Quinn. “We’re super excited to be working with a familiar cast of Magnet directors as well as Tim League and Ant Timpson.”


Our policy for commenting is simple. If you troll or post spam or act like a child we will send you to your room without dinner and take away your posting priviledges. Have fun, be polite!