Topic: HORROR EXPRESS Blu-ray

You know you are buying too many movies when you get an order that you don't remember placing. Well, in this case, I remembered the order but I forgot that I had added HORROR EXPRESS to the package. Sometimes I'l throw in an extra title just to make the shipping charges worthwhile.

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51a3VM8z7mL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

As much as I like the movie, I had been reluctant to order the Blu-ray following a number of bad reviews. These reviews often speak of compression artifacts and excessive Digital Noise Reduction. Having watched the movie on my 60" screen, I now conclude that a number of those previous reviewers are either smoking crack or they are just plain stupid.

Ok. That's harsh. But I sometimes think that reviewers are coming from the wrong place. You can't watch AVATAR, TRANSFORMERS amd IRON MAN then suddenly review a small 40 year old Spanish movie. I have an embarrassingly large Blu-ray collection with a very heavy emphasis on small catalogue titles. And I've seen HORROR EXPRESS on DVD...and it was pretty bad. I had very low expectations for the Blu-ray.

In fact, I found the Blu-ray to be excellent and at least a bajillion times bettter than any DVD of the movie.

Let's start with what's wrong with the Blu-ray. Well, it's a Spanish print with all of the credits in Spanish and the captioned scenes (ie. captions to show the location of an event) are in Spanish with no English subtitles...so some guess work is involved. That's very mildly annoying but doesn't really impede the movie. There is print damage but I also find it quite tolerable. While we see dirt, splotches and occasional damage, there don't appear to be any missing frames or jump cuts. My biggest complaint is visible edge enhancement. That being said, Universal studios has put out a few Blu-ray with even worse edge enhancment so I can't beat up Severin too much about this. The sound is plain Dolby; not lossless.