HorrorMovies.ca
Fantasia 2018: Satan’s Slaves [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, July 18, 2018
Prepared to be terrified. Indonesia can surely produce a film that will rival American greats like “The Conjuring” and “Insidious” with “Satan’s Slaves (Pengabdi Setan),” a tale of spirits, the occult, and more, which made its Canadian premiere at Montreal’s Fantasia International Film Festival. Rini (Tara Basro; “Killers,” which was also presented at Fantasia back

Fantasia 2018: The Nightshifter [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, July 18, 2018
The morgue; usually a gloomy and grim environment for most. If the dead speak to you, however, it may tone things down. No, no; not through signs and omens; if they literally opened their eyes and mouth and spoke to you. We discover this different mortuary atmosphere in “The Nightshifter (Morto Não Fala),” straight out

Fantasia 2018: Tales from the Hood 2 [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, July 17, 2018
Horror anthologies come and go. Some are memorable; others are not. Most usually have a balance of interesting segments, sprinkled with some more bland ones. Unfortunately, some just fall flat entirely. Thus is the case with “Tales from the Hood 2” which made its world premiere at Montreal’s Fantasia International Film Festival. A rich white

Fantasia 2018: Unfriended: Dark Web [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, July 16, 2018
Be careful whose laptop you use, because you might be dealing with some of the darkest things, and darkest individuals, that you have ever dealt with before. We discover a slim portion of what goes on in the underworld of the internet in “Unfriended: Dark Web,” the sequel to the 2014 “Unfriended” (a.k.a. “Cybernatural”), which

Fantasia 2018: La Nuit a dévoré le monde [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, July 15, 2018
Zombie films. We’ve all seen them. Some deal with rabid and rapid (catchy, huh?) ones while others deal with the slower, sluggish living dead. Most of these movies deal with survivors of the apocalypse and how they struggle to stay alive and obtain salvation. However, not many of them deal with the difficulties of being

Fantasia 2018: Nightmare Cinema [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, July 15, 2018
If horror anthologies are your thing, if you enjoyed such classic ones like “Creepshow,” “Tales from the Hood,” “Trick ‘r Treat” and “V/H/S,” then you’re definitely gonna dig “Nightmare Cinema” which made its world premiere at Montreal’s Fantasia International Film Festival, hosted by directors Alejandro Brugués, Ryûhei Kitamura, and legendary names such as Mick Garris

Netflix’s ‘Tau’ [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, July 8, 2018
So, like most nights or at least those that I have free. I spend my time scouring Netflix for something to watch. Usually it’s watching a movie or TV show that I’ve seen a thousand times over or whenever Netflix releases one of their crime documentaries. But I thought I’d take a gander at a

[Review] ‘Hereditary’ – A Slow Burn that Burns Bright
Written by Jason McDonald, June 11, 2018
If you asked most horror fans about what horror film they were looking forward too the most this year, you’d probably learn that a lot of people were hyped for the release of “Hereditary.”  And it’s no surprise really.  After hitting the festival circuit the film started to gain a lot of huge buzz from

[Review] ‘The Endless’ Blends Supernatural Elements into a Tale About Brotherly Love
Written by Jason McDonald, April 13, 2018
Long time directorial partners Justin Benson and Aaron Moorehead are back again with a new project that they’ve both directed and now star in.  Previously the duo worked on such well received features as “Resolution” and “Spring.”  If you’ve seen their work then you know that they’ve got a knack for more quiet atmospheric movies

Prodigy [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, April 6, 2018
You know when you read a synopsis or see some poster art and it looks/reads really interesting, but in the back of your mind you’re thinking, “Yeah, I doubt the film will live up to that“. Well, Alex Haughey and Brian Vidal’s Prodigy lives up to the expectations. It’s an engaging, intriguing and intellectual treat that

[Review] ‘Inoperable’ Shows Small Signs of Life
Written by Jason McDonald, February 11, 2018
It’s rare that it happens, but every now and then I come across a movie that intrigues and bewilders me just enough to keep me interested for 90% of the movie only to fumble the ball right before the endzone.  “Inoperable” is one such movie. In “Inoperable” Amy (Danielle Harris) wakes up to find herself

[Review] ‘The Ritual’ Brings Horror Back to the Woods
Written by Jason McDonald, February 11, 2018
It’s been awhile since we’ve had a good “creepy stuff is happening in the woods” film.  Some might say the recent “Blair Witch” sequel filled that niche, but it just didn’t satisfy my craving.  Wait, did you hear that rustling?  Sounds like it came from behind the trees . . . Come on, let’s go

[Review] ‘Victor Crowley’ Returns to Claim his Swampy Throne
Written by Jason McDonald, February 6, 2018
After being filmed in secret and released upon an unsuspecting audience last year the fourth “Hatchet,” film known as “Victor Crowley,” is finally headed to VOD, Blu-Ray, and DVD on February 6th.  Can the mutated redneck from the swamp conjure up new tricks to stay fresh or is it time to hang up his hatchet?

[Review] ‘Insidious: The Last Key’ Could be the Last Hurrah
Written by Jason McDonald, January 7, 2018
It’s been about two years since the last “Insidious” entry and, while I mostly enjoyed “Insidious: Chapter 3”, it felt like the franchise was already starting to run its course.  With “Insidious: The Last Key” we at least get some fresh blood in the form of “The Taking of Deborah Logan” director Adam Robitel.  Will

[Review] ‘The Shape of Water’ is a Mesmerizing Love Letter to Monsters
Written by Jason McDonald, December 26, 2017
It’s no secret that Guillermo Del Toro has been fascinated with classic movie monsters like Dracula and Frankenstein’s Monster, but one monster he seems to have had a particular interest in is the Creature from the Black Lagoon.  Years ago Guillermo was in talks with Universal to remake the classic creature feature, but like so

[Review] ‘Bright’ Opens Up a World of Potential
Written by Jason McDonald, December 26, 2017
I can’t think of a premise that has gotten me more interested in a potential film franchise than the premise for “Bright.”  What would our world be like today if “Lord of the Rings” was a historical record and not a fantasy novel?  How would Orcs and Elves fit in to modern society and what

‘Somebody’s Darling’ Review
Written by Jason McDonald, December 11, 2017
There are certain subjects that take a deft hand to approach and, when tackled, should be done so with a purpose and not just as a trivial plot detail.  For example, a subject like rape culture is one that will make people bristle if mishandled.  In ‘Somebody’s Darling’ we see a supernatural take on the

I Make Corpses [Short Film Review]
Written by Chris Savage, December 3, 2017
We here have been keeping a close eye on indie horror filmmaker Kyle Martellacci, as he is quickly making a name for himself with his short horror films that have absolutely captivated us throughout the past couple of years, and he continues to deliver and prove that you can create original horror shorts on a next

Mask of Thorn [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, October 30, 2017
The micro-budget, independent studio Mycho Entertainment, led by MJ Dixon is back with their latest entry, Mask of Thorn, a prequel to their previous installment Legacy of Thorn, and this time we get to travel all the way back to the eighties. But the question is, does Thorn still pack a sting? Well, I can

[REVIEW] ‘Jigsaw’ is Almost a Complete Picture
Written by Jason McDonald, October 29, 2017
It’s been seven years since the “Saw” franchise issued its final chapter.  To put that into perspective Freddy Krueger was on hiatus for only three years after “The Final Nightmare” and Jason came back from his “Final Chapter” after one year.  So in terms of finality, the “Saw” franchise did have a pretty nice long