HorrorMovies.ca
Game of Death [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, July 25, 2017
Move over, Monopoly, because there’s a new game on the market and people are just dying to play it. Cheesy, I know, but sometimes, cheesy is good. When over-the-top cheesiness and gore make a film entertaining, then you know you’re watching “Game of Death” which made its Canadian premiere at Montreal’s Fantasia International Film Festival.

Killing Ground [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, July 22, 2017
The Australian forest is beautifully thick, dense, and keeps you away from that stressful urban civilization. However, those qualities quickly transform into your biggest enemies when no one can hear you scream. Intense. Stressful. Gut-wrenching. Those are all terms that went through my mind after I sat through the Canadian premiere of “Killing Ground” at

[Review] ‘Castlevania’ Could Be the Video Game Adaptation We’ve Been Waiting For
Written by Jason McDonald, July 9, 2017
When it comes to translating video game properties to other forms of media, there haven’t been too many success stories.  To be fair, most video games don’t have the necessary plot to actually fill out an entire film, let alone a TV series.  However, “Castlevania” is one of those few properties that has enough lore

The Night Shift (2016) [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, July 6, 2017
Poor Vincent Rivera. Massimiliano Cerchi certainly likes leaving this dude in empty mansions, or maybe Vincent is a glutton for punishment? Either way, Vincent Rivera stars in Massimiliano Cerchi’s latest flick, The Night Shift, where he plays the role of Frank, a reluctant security guard, and to be honest, how this guy became a security guard

[Review] ‘The Mummy’ Might Unravel Universal’s Dark Universe
Written by Jason McDonald, June 12, 2017
I know the idea of Universal starting a monster universe, now known as the “Dark Universe,” was a bit divisive amongst horror fans to say the least.   However, I had some generally optimistic feelings for the idea.  I grew up on the classic Universal monsters and, even though they weren’t the best in the

Empire State of the Dead [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, March 27, 2017
Once in a while, in the horror world, you need to watch some small budget movies. They exist for multiple reasons: to debut the careers of directors and actors, to make you realize how great other movies are, but also because sometimes, you just fall on some small gems that you would never have heard

[Review] ‘Kong: Skull Island’ Shows That Kong is Still King
Written by Jason McDonald, March 14, 2017
There have been a lot of valid criticisms directed at such films like “Pacific Rim” and “Godzilla,” but I’m thrilled to see giant monster action returning to the screen.  And now the granddaddy of them all, Kong, has returned to tear things up.  Is this classic beast able to reclaim his throne or is it

STAR [Space Traveling Alien Reject] (Review)
Written by Chris Savage, March 8, 2017
Adam R. Steigert is certainly no stranger to us especially with his previous films A Grim Becoming and Not Human (Ombis: Alien Invasion), but his latest project, STAR [Space Traveling Alien Reject] may just be his most ambitious work to date. And with limited funding, it was always going to be hard to put his vision to

In a Lonely Place [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, March 6, 2017
I’m sure Davide Montecchi’s In a Lonely Place will divide a few of you, and as I’m writing this I’m still trying to process my head around this one. In a Lonely Place is without question a beautifully shot film, it has this sort of melancholy enchantment about it and it simply draws you in. It’s

Adam K [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, March 2, 2017
Joston Theney is certainly no stranger around these parts especially with his slasher flicks Axeman and Axeman 2: Overkill, but what brings his name to our attention today is his latest offering, Adam K. It’s a little different from his previous efforts as it comes off more as a thriller, but it still has that slasher vibe

[Review] ‘Get Out’ is an Amazing Blend of Horror and Comedy
Written by Jason McDonald, February 25, 2017
I remember the day when it was announced that “Key and Peele” star Jordan Peele was making his feature length directorial debut with a horror movie.  I was legitimately excited to learn that Peele was a big fan of horror and that he had as much interest in it as he did comedy.  It just

[Review] ‘Rings’ Has Lost Its Luster
Written by Jason McDonald, February 8, 2017
It’s been over 12 years since the world last had to deal with the threat of Samara and her cursed video.  And while her legacy seemed to grow and continue in Japan, she was seemingly all but forgotten here in the states.  But now Samara is back with a vengeance, but will she receive a

[Review] ‘Resident Evil: The Final Chapter’ Stumbles into the Sunset
Written by Jason McDonald, January 29, 2017
I think it’s only fair that I preface this review by saying I grew up as a huge fan of the Resident Evil games.  I played the hell out of them in my younger years and when I heard they were turning it into a movie I was beyond excited.  Being a Junior in high

Capture Kill Release [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, January 2, 2017
There was a time when I absolutely loved the found footage sub-genre, I just couldn’t get enough of it. I would search high and low for the latest films, but quickly that love started to turn into loathing, as everyone and their uncle were making found footage films and they were all the same. Someone

The Autopsy of Jane Doe [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, December 17, 2016
Just like John Smith, Jane Doe is the generic name for an unknown female or when giving an example of an individual. Jane Doe finally reveals her cold, lifeless visage in “The Autopsy of Jane Doe”, and it was well worth the wait. Tommy Tilden (the excellent Brian Cox; “The Ring”, “Troy”, “Braveheart”) and his

[Horror Short Review] Agatha
Written by Chris Savage, December 16, 2016
We’ve seen our fair share of shorts around these parts, and we’re always on the look-out for more. Some hit the brief and others fall flat, and then there are some that leave you so intrigued that you just crave more and more, such is the case with Timothy Vandenberg’s latest short Agatha. The film comes in at

Hellbilly (2003) [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, December 14, 2016
I’ve been on a slasher-fest as of late and in doing so I’ve been on the look out for some more obscure, lesser known flicks. In doing so, veteran director Massimiliano Cerchi gave me the opportunity to watch his lost horror film Hellbilly, a film which is now available on various VOD platforms including Amazon Instant.

Insane (2015) [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, December 5, 2016
Clowns and horror films go together like cheese and pickle or peanut butter and jelly for those of you in the States. Clowns are creepy, they’ll draw you in with their fun little antics, and before you know what’s going on, that sucker has plucked your eyeballs out! Now, of course, not every clown is out to

Meathook Massacre II [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, November 30, 2016
Dustin Ferguson is certainly no stranger to low-budget shock cinema, as he has pretty much made an entire career out of it, while creating his only little niche, and while a lot of his work isn’t going to be for everyone, he still manages to create something entertaining. Enter his latest flick, Meathook Massacre II,

The Dark Tapes [Requiem FearFest Review]
Written by Simon Rother, November 1, 2016
The last film I viewed at the first edition of Montreal’s Requiem FearFest was a horror anthology of found footage films, interlocking storywise, entitled “The Dark Tapes,” written by and co-directed by Michael McQuown, who had written “The Perfect Man” in the past, and was directing his first motion picture. Tape # 1 is entitled