HorrorMovies.ca
[Review] Southbound is a Thrilling Journey into Hell
Written by Jason McDonald, February 4, 2016
I have to admit that I was feeling a lot of conflicting emotions when I started up “Southbound.”  The premise got my interest and the trailer was very promising, but this was from the same people who brought us “V/H/S/” and “V/H/S 2.”  Both were rather divisive films and I, unfortunately, fell into the camp

[Review] Grandpa’s Psycho
Written by Chris Savage, January 29, 2016
Upon reading the title of Danny LeGare’s Grandpa’s Psycho, a film that I never even knew existed, I instantly thought it was going to be a horror comedy about a crazy grandpa pissed off at the world while slaying people as he rode down on his mobility scooter. But, what I got was a dark and gritty

[Review] X-Files Has Made Me a Believer Again
Written by Jason McDonald, January 25, 2016
When Fox announced that they were reviving the “X-Files” I had two very strong reactions.  The initial one was obviously excitement.  I grew up on the “X-Files” and was eager to dive back into the world once again.  But then the second reaction began to set in: I started to dread this new season.  Despite

[Review] Resident Evil 0 Returns In a Shiny New Package
Written by Jason McDonald, January 19, 2016
A year after releasing the remastered version of “Resident Evil” Capcom has polished up another classic “Resident Evil” title for modern devices. “Resident Evil 0” is a touched up version of the Gamecube game of the same name, but is this game just a pretty picture or is their more substance to it than that? “Resident Evil 0”

[Review] The Abandoned Aims High But Falls Short
Written by Jason McDonald, January 5, 2016
“The Abandoned” had it’s world premiere last year, but if you were like me and didn’t get to see very many film festivals in 2015, then you probably missed out on it.  Thankfully, IFC picked up the film and on January 8th it’ll be getting put into select theaters on VOD.  Will this isolated horror

First Official Clip from the ‘Martyrs’ Remake
Written by Chris Savage, December 15, 2015
It finally happened yesterday, the first trailer (see below) for Kevin and Michael Goetz’ remake of Martyrs hit and many of you voiced your opinions, and today we have even more footage for you guys to gaze upon. That is, if you’re intrigued at all. You know, I’m curious, so I’ll be checking this out regardless.

[Review] Samurai Cop 2: Deadly Vengeance
Written by Chris Savage, December 8, 2015
Well, who’d have thought it, eh? A sequel to the infamous 1991 flick Samurai Cop, a film that was so bad it was good. A film which starred the late Robert Z’Dar, and one that people are still talking about to this day, some near 25 years later. Samurai Cop was an absolute blast, it

[Review] Eli Roth’s ‘South of Hell’ is Bland TV
Written by Jason McDonald, November 30, 2015
This past Friday WeTV jumped into the horror pool with their new show “South of Hell.”  In an interesting move the network ran a marathon of the entire season on Friday. So if you were interested in binge watching the whole thing, you could.  Whether or not that’d be a good idea, though, is a

Fallout 4 PS4 Review- Into the Wasteland Once More
Written by Jason McDonald, November 9, 2015
It’s been five years since the last time a lone wanderer ventured out into the wasteland and left their mark on the future of humanity. The “Fallout” series is back with “Fallout 4” and this time we’re heading to Boston to explore the Bean Town wasteland.  Is this sequel prepared to survive in a new

‘The Gift’ Blu-Ray Review- A Tight and Uncomfortable Thriller
Written by Jason McDonald, November 4, 2015
Full disclosure: Universal sent me a copy of “The Gift” on blu-ray and, while it’s not horror, I thought it’d be worth reviewing for the site anyways.  I tend to think that horror fans enjoy good thrillers as well and I was really impressed with what “The Gift” had to offer. The Movie: “The Gift”

31 Days of Halloween Horror Movies 2015: Complete Recap and Wrap Up
Written by Goon, November 2, 2015
Well, sadly, the Halloween season is now over. Another 330 some odd days until the season is upon us again. This entire month I have invited you to come along with me on my journey as I watched over 31 horror movies this month. It’s been a great time sharing my experiences with you and

[Review] Live-Evil
Written by Chris Savage, November 1, 2015
With it being Halloween and all, I think it’s quite fitting that we have a spooktacular review for you in the form of Ari Kirschenbaum’s Live-Evil. Now, I’m sure you’ve heard of this one by now as pretty much every horror website has been promoting the heck out of this one, and for good reason, the

31 Days of Halloween Horror Movies 2015: Week Four Recap
Written by Goon, October 31, 2015
Hey guys! It’s been a wild ride so far this month and I can clearly see the light at the end of the tunnel. If you didn’t already know, I have been doing my annual 31 Days of Halloween where I watch a horror movie every day in the month of October. This year I

31 Days of Halloween Horror Movies 2015: Week Three Recap
Written by Goon, October 25, 2015
It’s that time once again for me to give you guys a complete recap of my viewings during the 31 Days of Halloween extravaganza. If you missed week one or week two you can still check those out before you continue on. This week I did more catching up on some films that I’ve missed

31 Days of Halloween Horror Movies 2015: Week Two Recap
Written by Goon, October 15, 2015
Hey guys, I’m back again for week two in my 31 Days of Halloween adventure. Every year I watch a horror movie every day in the month of October. For the past several years I have been chronicling that task right here for you guys. This past week has went by in a blur and I

31 Days of Halloween Horror Movies 2015: Week One Recap
Written by Goon, October 9, 2015
It’s that time of year once again, every horror fans favorite season. That means that I’m back again with another 31 Days of Halloween event. Every day in the month of October, I watch a horror film and then at the end of the week I post a recap right here for everyone. This year,

The Green Inferno Review
Written by Jason McDonald, September 24, 2015
Before “The Green Inferno” made its LA debut at AFI Fest, director Eli Roth came on stage and asked us to clear our minds of any preconceived notions we might have had of the film.  The idea was to cleanse ourselves of any assumptions that might have been made in lieu of marketing or advertisement. I did

Eli Roth’s Green Inferno Movie Review
Written by Simon Rother, September 24, 2015
It is a huge shame that there are complications with the theatrical release of “The Green Inferno” because this enormous, raging ball of fire should be seen for those avid horror fans who wish to see a hardcore, intense movie on the big screen. It made its Quebec premiere at Montreal’s Fantasia Film Festival and

‘Scream Queens’ Pilot Episode Review
Written by Jason McDonald, September 20, 2015
The minds behind “Glee” and “American Horror Story” are putting together their love of mayhem and irreverent humor for a brand new series that looks to take a stab at the slasher genre.  Is “Scream Queens” the best of both worlds or does it fail to balance humor with horror? “Scream Queens” features an ensemble

[Horror Short Review] Cindy Maples’ Random
Written by Chris Savage, September 20, 2015
One of the best things about the horror genre is that it is absolutely filled with some truly awesome talent, that is screaming to be seen. Case in-point; Cindy Maples. This wonderful actress has starred in a slew of movies, shorts and TV shows, throughout the years. But it gives me great pleasure to introduce you


Warning: file_get_contents(http://urls.api.twitter.com/1/urls/count.json?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.horror-movies.ca%2F2016%2F02%2Fterror-birds-flock-vod-march%2F): failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 410 Gone in /chroot/home/horrormo/horror-movies.ca/html/wp-content/plugins/most-shared-posts/msp-fetch.php on line 179