HorrorMovies.ca
[Horror Short Review] The Quacky Slasher
Written by Chris Savage, August 16, 2017
Well, as someone who is always on the lookout for something different and unique, I see a variety of varying pieces, and I have to say that a guy in a duck mask slashing the throats of many was certainly something I never expected and certainly hearing the killer lyrics, “Quack, Quack, You’re Dead” just

[REVIEW] ‘The Dark Tower’ Takes a Few Familiar Stephen King Missteps
Written by Jason McDonald, August 8, 2017
I should kick this off by saying that “The Dark Tower” is one of those Stephen King novels I just haven’t gotten around to reading.  Perhaps if I had I would feel stronger about how the film turned out.  Still, even without having read the novel I was excited  purely because of the cast and because

The Night Watchmen [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, August 5, 2017
You know when you watch a movie that just has you on the edge of your seat the whole time? A movie that has you laughing until your cheeks hurt or with your jaw to the floor at how INSANE the special effects are? Or simply a movie that widens your eyes at how innovative

Better Watch Out [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, August 5, 2017
Christmas came early in Montreal as “Better Watch Out” made its Canadian premiere at the Fantasia International Film Festival. Chris Peckover, having written and directed “Undocumented” (2010), jumps into his second big director’s role, having also co-written “Better Watch Out” with Zack Kahn, and oh boy do they form a dynamic duo. You will NOT

Dead Shack [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, August 2, 2017
A lovely weekend getaway in a small, cozy cottage with your best friend, his hot sister, and their parents sounds like a pretty cool vacation, no? Except that the mother is really the miserable step-mother; the father is a really embarrassing (yet hilarious) drunk, and the next-door neighbor has preserved her family members as zombies

Mayhem [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, August 1, 2017
Do you work an office job? Do you hate your boss? Do you sometimes feel like flipping a table, slashing a colleague’s throat and intensely fornicating with that hot accountant from the 5th floor? Yes? No? Regardless of your answer, you’re still gonna ADORE “Mayhem”, written by Matias Caruso and directed by the insane Joe

Le Manoir [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, July 31, 2017
Slasher; hilarious; hung by his penis. Got your attention, now? Those are some of the terms I’d use to describe Tony T. Datis’ first feature film, straight outta France, “Le manoir” a.k.a. “The Mansion,” which made its North American premiere at Montreal’s Fantasia International Film Festival. Ten young adults go partying for New Year’s Eve

Game of Death [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, July 25, 2017
Move over, Monopoly, because there’s a new game on the market and people are just dying to play it. Cheesy, I know, but sometimes, cheesy is good. When over-the-top cheesiness and gore make a film entertaining, then you know you’re watching “Game of Death” which made its Canadian premiere at Montreal’s Fantasia International Film Festival.

Killing Ground [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, July 22, 2017
The Australian forest is beautifully thick, dense, and keeps you away from that stressful urban civilization. However, those qualities quickly transform into your biggest enemies when no one can hear you scream. Intense. Stressful. Gut-wrenching. Those are all terms that went through my mind after I sat through the Canadian premiere of “Killing Ground” at

[Review] ‘Castlevania’ Could Be the Video Game Adaptation We’ve Been Waiting For
Written by Jason McDonald, July 9, 2017
When it comes to translating video game properties to other forms of media, there haven’t been too many success stories.  To be fair, most video games don’t have the necessary plot to actually fill out an entire film, let alone a TV series.  However, “Castlevania” is one of those few properties that has enough lore

The Night Shift (2016) [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, July 6, 2017
Poor Vincent Rivera. Massimiliano Cerchi certainly likes leaving this dude in empty mansions, or maybe Vincent is a glutton for punishment? Either way, Vincent Rivera stars in Massimiliano Cerchi’s latest flick, The Night Shift, where he plays the role of Frank, a reluctant security guard, and to be honest, how this guy became a security guard

[Review] ‘The Mummy’ Might Unravel Universal’s Dark Universe
Written by Jason McDonald, June 12, 2017
I know the idea of Universal starting a monster universe, now known as the “Dark Universe,” was a bit divisive amongst horror fans to say the least.   However, I had some generally optimistic feelings for the idea.  I grew up on the classic Universal monsters and, even though they weren’t the best in the

Empire State of the Dead [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, March 27, 2017
Once in a while, in the horror world, you need to watch some small budget movies. They exist for multiple reasons: to debut the careers of directors and actors, to make you realize how great other movies are, but also because sometimes, you just fall on some small gems that you would never have heard

[Review] ‘Kong: Skull Island’ Shows That Kong is Still King
Written by Jason McDonald, March 14, 2017
There have been a lot of valid criticisms directed at such films like “Pacific Rim” and “Godzilla,” but I’m thrilled to see giant monster action returning to the screen.  And now the granddaddy of them all, Kong, has returned to tear things up.  Is this classic beast able to reclaim his throne or is it

STAR [Space Traveling Alien Reject] (Review)
Written by Chris Savage, March 8, 2017
Adam R. Steigert is certainly no stranger to us especially with his previous films A Grim Becoming and Not Human (Ombis: Alien Invasion), but his latest project, STAR [Space Traveling Alien Reject] may just be his most ambitious work to date. And with limited funding, it was always going to be hard to put his vision to

In a Lonely Place [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, March 6, 2017
I’m sure Davide Montecchi’s In a Lonely Place will divide a few of you, and as I’m writing this I’m still trying to process my head around this one. In a Lonely Place is without question a beautifully shot film, it has this sort of melancholy enchantment about it and it simply draws you in. It’s

Adam K [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, March 2, 2017
Joston Theney is certainly no stranger around these parts especially with his slasher flicks Axeman and Axeman 2: Overkill, but what brings his name to our attention today is his latest offering, Adam K. It’s a little different from his previous efforts as it comes off more as a thriller, but it still has that slasher vibe

[Review] ‘Get Out’ is an Amazing Blend of Horror and Comedy
Written by Jason McDonald, February 25, 2017
I remember the day when it was announced that “Key and Peele” star Jordan Peele was making his feature length directorial debut with a horror movie.  I was legitimately excited to learn that Peele was a big fan of horror and that he had as much interest in it as he did comedy.  It just

[Review] ‘Rings’ Has Lost Its Luster
Written by Jason McDonald, February 8, 2017
It’s been over 12 years since the world last had to deal with the threat of Samara and her cursed video.  And while her legacy seemed to grow and continue in Japan, she was seemingly all but forgotten here in the states.  But now Samara is back with a vengeance, but will she receive a

[Review] ‘Resident Evil: The Final Chapter’ Stumbles into the Sunset
Written by Jason McDonald, January 29, 2017
I think it’s only fair that I preface this review by saying I grew up as a huge fan of the Resident Evil games.  I played the hell out of them in my younger years and when I heard they were turning it into a movie I was beyond excited.  Being a Junior in high