HorrorMovies.ca
[Review] ‘Inoperable’ Shows Small Signs of Life
Written by Jason McDonald, February 11, 2018
It’s rare that it happens, but every now and then I come across a movie that intrigues and bewilders me just enough to keep me interested for 90% of the movie only to fumble the ball right before the endzone.  “Inoperable” is one such movie. In “Inoperable” Amy (Danielle Harris) wakes up to find herself

[Review] ‘The Ritual’ Brings Horror Back to the Woods
Written by Jason McDonald, February 11, 2018
It’s been awhile since we’ve had a good “creepy stuff is happening in the woods” film.  Some might say the recent “Blair Witch” sequel filled that niche, but it just didn’t satisfy my craving.  Wait, did you hear that rustling?  Sounds like it came from behind the trees . . . Come on, let’s go

[Review] ‘Victor Crowley’ Returns to Claim his Swampy Throne
Written by Jason McDonald, February 6, 2018
After being filmed in secret and released upon an unsuspecting audience last year the fourth “Hatchet,” film known as “Victor Crowley,” is finally headed to VOD, Blu-Ray, and DVD on February 6th.  Can the mutated redneck from the swamp conjure up new tricks to stay fresh or is it time to hang up his hatchet?

[Review] ‘Insidious: The Last Key’ Could be the Last Hurrah
Written by Jason McDonald, January 7, 2018
It’s been about two years since the last “Insidious” entry and, while I mostly enjoyed “Insidious: Chapter 3”, it felt like the franchise was already starting to run its course.  With “Insidious: The Last Key” we at least get some fresh blood in the form of “The Taking of Deborah Logan” director Adam Robitel.  Will

[Review] ‘The Shape of Water’ is a Mesmerizing Love Letter to Monsters
Written by Jason McDonald, December 26, 2017
It’s no secret that Guillermo Del Toro has been fascinated with classic movie monsters like Dracula and Frankenstein’s Monster, but one monster he seems to have had a particular interest in is the Creature from the Black Lagoon.  Years ago Guillermo was in talks with Universal to remake the classic creature feature, but like so

[Review] ‘Bright’ Opens Up a World of Potential
Written by Jason McDonald, December 26, 2017
I can’t think of a premise that has gotten me more interested in a potential film franchise than the premise for “Bright.”  What would our world be like today if “Lord of the Rings” was a historical record and not a fantasy novel?  How would Orcs and Elves fit in to modern society and what

‘Somebody’s Darling’ Review
Written by Jason McDonald, December 11, 2017
There are certain subjects that take a deft hand to approach and, when tackled, should be done so with a purpose and not just as a trivial plot detail.  For example, a subject like rape culture is one that will make people bristle if mishandled.  In ‘Somebody’s Darling’ we see a supernatural take on the

I Make Corpses [Short Film Review]
Written by Chris Savage, December 3, 2017
We here have been keeping a close eye on indie horror filmmaker Kyle Martellacci, as he is quickly making a name for himself with his short horror films that have absolutely captivated us throughout the past couple of years, and he continues to deliver and prove that you can create original horror shorts on a next

Mask of Thorn [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, October 30, 2017
The micro-budget, independent studio Mycho Entertainment, led by MJ Dixon is back with their latest entry, Mask of Thorn, a prequel to their previous installment Legacy of Thorn, and this time we get to travel all the way back to the eighties. But the question is, does Thorn still pack a sting? Well, I can

[REVIEW] ‘Jigsaw’ is Almost a Complete Picture
Written by Jason McDonald, October 29, 2017
It’s been seven years since the “Saw” franchise issued its final chapter.  To put that into perspective Freddy Krueger was on hiatus for only three years after “The Final Nightmare” and Jason came back from his “Final Chapter” after one year.  So in terms of finality, the “Saw” franchise did have a pretty nice long

DIS [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, October 23, 2017
There has been one actor that I have had my eye on pretty much since I’ve started writing for HM.ca, and his name is Bill Oberst Jr., a guy who is basically the hardest working actor in horror, maybe in all of film for that matter. The dude goes above and beyond and it shows

[REVIEW] ‘The Axiom’ Brings a New Terror to the Woods
Written by Jason McDonald, October 22, 2017
As genre fans we know that there are a lot of horror films that take place in the woods.  From classics like “Evil Dead” and “Friday the 13th” to your more common genre entries like “Wrong Turn.”  The deep woods just have a certain mysticism to them that allow them to be a natural breeding

[Review] ‘Amityville: The Awakening’ is a Fixer-Upper
Written by Jason McDonald, October 18, 2017
What a tumultuous journey ‘Amityville: The Awakening’ has had.  After numerous push backs and delays the film is finally getting a release.  But even it’s release has been rather strange.  “Amityville” is currently available for free on Google Play (meaning you can watch it on YouTube legitimately) for a limited time.  Then on October 28th

[Review] ‘Red Christmas’ Delivers a Strange Holiday Present
Written by Jason McDonald, October 16, 2017
It’s a dangerous game when horror films try to touch on a divisive political issue.   If you go too far with it, you beat your audience over the head with the message.  And if you botch the attempt, you alienate and upset people.  However, not going far enough can also be a problem.  There are

Axeman II: Overkill [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, October 5, 2017
Just when you thought it was safe to return to Cutter’s Creek, the Axeman launches a freakin’ axe into your face! And there, the Axeman is back in full swing. From Joston Theney comes his sequel, Axeman II: Overkill and it’s bigger, badder and bloodier than the original, so buckle-up! The film sees the return of Deputy Darlene

Deadly Damsel [Short Film Review]
Written by Chris Savage, October 4, 2017
There are so many talented individuals in the indie scene that I have my eye on and two of them just so happen to be involved in this little title, Deadly Damsel. First is writer/director Ryan McCurdy who first caught my eye with his excellent short Misread, a sort of thriller which keeps you on

[Review] ‘Cult of Chucky’ Proves that the Little Guy Still Has It
Written by Jason McDonald, October 4, 2017
Hard to believe that we’re barely getting to a seventh Chucky movie.  With the speed at which franchise horror movies tend to come out, it feels like we should be on our twentieth film by now.  Thankfully, though, Chucky likes to take it slow and as a result that seems to have ensured that the

[REVIEW] ‘It’ Joins the Ranks of Stephen King Greats
Written by Jason McDonald, September 12, 2017
As the release date for “It” came closer I started to become keenly aware of how much I was anticipating its release.  It was a little concerning because I started to dread the possibility that I was setting my expectations a bit too high.  Thankfully, “It” was the rare film that not only met those

[Horror Short Review] The Quacky Slasher
Written by Chris Savage, August 16, 2017
Well, as someone who is always on the lookout for something different and unique, I see a variety of varying pieces, and I have to say that a guy in a duck mask slashing the throats of many was certainly something I never expected and certainly hearing the killer lyrics, “Quack, Quack, You’re Dead” just

[REVIEW] ‘The Dark Tower’ Takes a Few Familiar Stephen King Missteps
Written by Jason McDonald, August 8, 2017
I should kick this off by saying that “The Dark Tower” is one of those Stephen King novels I just haven’t gotten around to reading.  Perhaps if I had I would feel stronger about how the film turned out.  Still, even without having read the novel I was excited  purely because of the cast and because