HorrorMovies.ca
Meathook Massacre II [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, November 30, 2016
Dustin Ferguson is certainly no stranger to low-budget shock cinema, as he has pretty much made an entire career out of it, while creating his only little niche, and while a lot of his work isn’t going to be for everyone, he still manages to create something entertaining. Enter his latest flick, Meathook Massacre II,

The Dark Tapes [Requiem FearFest Review]
Written by Simon Rother, November 1, 2016
The last film I viewed at the first edition of Montreal’s Requiem FearFest was a horror anthology of found footage films, interlocking storywise, entitled “The Dark Tapes,” written by and co-directed by Michael McQuown, who had written “The Perfect Man” in the past, and was directing his first motion picture. Tape # 1 is entitled

Blood Hunters [Requiem FearFest Review]
Written by Simon Rother, November 1, 2016
When you’re a single mother and you wake up in a medical facility, 9 months pregnant (and you weren’t, up to your last memory), surrounded by dead bodies, that is certainly a rude awakening. Thus is the premise in Corey Brown’s “Blood Hunters,” (aka “One Drop”) directed by Tricia Lee, which was presented at Montreal’s

Night of Something Strange [Requiem FearFest Review]
Written by Simon Rother, November 1, 2016
The Requiem FearFest is a brand new horror movie-related festival in Montreal. It took place on October 29th and 30th on the 7th floor of the Alt Hotel. It featured numerous movies presented among 3 separate rooms; panel talks with actors of the movie world; vendors who exposed movies, posters, and various horror memorabilia for

[Horror Short Review] Cindy Maples’ Out of my Mind
Written by Chris Savage, October 27, 2016
Cindy Maples first caught our eye with her stellar short, Random, and since then we’ve been keeping a close eye on her for her next directorial effort, and again, she has delivered an interesting and engaging tale. The short is titled Out of my Mind, which stars Rusty James, the duo previously collaborated together on Maples’ earlier short,

[Review] ‘Ouija: Origin of Evil’ is the Rare Case Where the Sequel Outshines the Original
Written by Jason McDonald, October 24, 2016
Ask me anything about 2014’s “Ouija” film and the most I could probably tell you is that it starred the young girl from “Bates Motel.”  And that it was mostly forgettable if not a little dull to watch.  But the film did well at the box office, so it wasn’t too surprising that it got

[Review] Criterion Edition of ‘Pan’s Labyrinth’ is a Must for Guillermo del Toro Fans
Written by Jason McDonald, October 18, 2016
Guillermo del Toro’s body of work is one of the few collections of films where I feel hard pressed to think of one I don’t like.  It’s equally challenging to think of one that stands out as my favorite.  However, among the ones that I would consider, I know for certain that “Pan’s Labyrinth” would be among my top contenders for

Killbillies [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, October 8, 2016
We’ve had a slew of backwoods horror films and the like, most notably The Texas Chain Saw Massacre and The Hills Have Eyes. And for what ever reason, we just can’t get enough of them. Just look at the Wrong Turn series for example, how many sequels are there now? Anyway, I think we have

Good Tidings (2016) [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, October 6, 2016
I think we can all agree, Christmas horror flicks are awesome! We’ve seen a load though, from your average creepy Santa Claus, all the way to a demonic snowman, there’s pretty much something for everyone. Hell, even Bill Goldberg got in on the whole Christmas killing thing with the much overlooked Santa’s Slay. So yeah, festive

True Love Ways [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, September 25, 2016
I absolutely love it when a film comes along and it just delivers swerve after swerve. You just don’t know what to expect yet, and Mathieu Seiler has delivered with the deeply atmospheric and stylish revenge thriller True Love Ways. The film begins innocently enough with the young couple of Séverine (Anna Hausburg) and Tom (Kai Michael Müller)

[Review] ‘Ash Vs Evil Dead’ Season 2 Premiere- Hail to the King Baby
Written by Jason McDonald, September 18, 2016
Last year the most remarkable thing happened: We got an “Evil Dead” tv series and it was pretty damn good.  Who would have ever predicted that a movie series like “Evil Dead” would successfully make the jump from cinemas to the small screen and be largely faithful to the series and fans?  But with season two

[Review] ‘Blair Witch’- Is it Worth Returning to the Black Hills?
Written by Jason McDonald, September 17, 2016
Whether or not you were a fan of the original “Blair Witch” movie, there’s no denying that that film had a lasting impact on both pop culture and horror.  When we talk about these mythical “game changing” horror films, the “Blair Witch” is a film that one could easily point to and say that it had

Don’t Breath Movie Review
Written by Simon Rother, August 19, 2016
I am one of those who believe that director Fede Alvarez did a fantastic job with the remake of “Evil Dead”. He did not disappoint with his latest film, “Don’t Breathe,” which was presented in a special advanced screening at Montreal’s Fantasia International Film Festival. Rocky (Jane Levy; also starred in Alvarez’s “Evil Dead”), Alex

I am Not a Serial Killer Fantasia Review
Written by SImon Rother, August 15, 2016
Not often do you get to see legendary actor Christopher Lloyd play in a horror movie. We get this opportunity in “I Am Not a Serial Killer” which made its Canadian premiere at Montreal’s Fantasia International Film Festival. John (Max Records; “Where the Wild Things Are”, “The Sitter”) isn’t like most teenagers. Obsessed by serial

Before I Wake Fantasia Review
Written by Simon Rother, August 15, 2016
Follow your dreams. We’ve heard this motto before. But sometimes, your dreams follow you. As you know, dreams and nightmares are quite different, but “Before I Wake”, which was presented in a special advanced screening at Montreal’s Fantasia International Film Festival (with director Mike Flanagan and star actress Kate Bosworth present), will definitely confirm that

The Devils Candy Review
Written by Simon Rother, August 14, 2016
When you buy the home of your dreams, you expect some magical moments with your family: not to have a deranged, former occupant attempt to invade your home and dismantle everyone in his path. This occurs in “The Devil’s Candy” which made its Quebec premiere at Montreal’s Fantasia International Film Festival. Jesse (Ethan Embry; “Late

Viral Review
Written by Jason McDonald, August 2, 2016
Directors Henry Joost and Ariel Schulman have had an interesting roller coaster career thus far.  Their first major success, “Catfish”, was a weirdly intense entry that put them on the map.  Then they followed it up with perhaps the best “Paranormal Activity” film, number 3, and then the worst, number 4.  But then their most recent

Too Young to Die Review
Written by Simon Rother, August 1, 2016
It had been a long time that I hadn’t gone through a range of emotions and had so much fun while watching a movie. I got to fulfill such an exciting experience while viewing “Too Young To Die!” straight out of Japan, which made its Canadian premiere at Montreal’s Fantasia International Film Festival. Daisuke has

Review: Kevin Smith’s Yoga Hosers
Written by Simon Rother, August 1, 2016
Kevin Smith’s directing work is adored by some; disliked by others. His newest film, “Yoga Hosers,” made its Canadian premiere at Montreal’s Fantasia Film Festival, and even though Kevin Smith was there in person and went on for about an hour before the screening of his movie in a very entertaining monologue, I was disappointed

Movie Review: James Wan’s Lights Out
Written by Simon Rother, July 24, 2016
Many us were very afraid of the dark as kids, and some of us still are. With “Lights Out” being presented in a special advanced screening at Montreal’s Fantasia International Film Festival, some of us may begin to be anxious within the shadows. Rebecca (Teresa Palmer; “Warm Bodies”; “I Am Number Four”) has moved away