HorrorMovies.ca
The Perfect Husband [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, July 1, 2016
Going into Lucas Pavetto’s The Perfect Husband, I initially thought it was just another run-of-the-mill horror flick in a secluded cabin, but there is much more than meets the eye with this one. It has several layers that slowly begin to peel away until you get to its rotten core, and that core might be a

[REVIEW] ‘Terrordactyl’ Creature Feature Fun Takes Flight
Written by Jason McDonald, June 22, 2016
I don’t know what it is about the summer season, but when the world erupts into flames like the intro of “Terminator 2” and I’m forced to wear tank tops and flip flops, I’m suddenly in the mood for creature feature fun.  And arriving just in time for fit that need is ‘Terrordactyl’, a tale of

[REVIEW] ‘The Conjuring 2’ Will Lightning Strike Twice for the Warrens?
Written by Jason McDonald, June 14, 2016
After taking a quick break from horror to direct “Furious 7”, James Wan returns to the genre with a sequel to the hugely successful 2013 film “The Conjuring.”  With the “The Conjuring 2”, Wan has gathered the band back together with the hopes of repeating the critical and financial success the first one enjoyed.  But

‘Cleaver: Rise of the Killer Clown’ [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, June 3, 2016
Clowns in horror movies will always get my attention, they bring a slice of fun but also a false sense of security, you just don’t know if they’re gonna tickle your funny bone or pull it the hell out. So when we got the chance to watch MJ Dixon’s foray into this sub-genre via Cleaver: Rise

‘Hollower’ [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, June 1, 2016
For those of you who are new to MJ Dixon, he’s been churning out horror flicks for the past few years under his shingle Mycho Entertainment Group, and he’s made quite a name for himself in doing so. Most of his films are dominated by the slasher sub-genre, and he’s got really good at nailing that

‘Girl in Woods’ [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, May 29, 2016
Girl in Woods is Jeremy Benson’s (Live Animals) latest flick and it’s part survival horror, part psychological, but if I was to describe the film in one sentence it would be a “total freakin’ mindf**k!” The film had me scratching my head on so many occasions that I actually questioned my own sanity at times,

‘Betrothed’ [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, May 28, 2016
Ever since I first witnessed Tobe Hooper’s The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, I’ve been obsessed with sadistic families in films, but saying that it also goes back to Wes Cravens The Last House on the Left and Ingmar Bergman’s The Virgin Spring, but I think it was Hooper’s vision which really sparked my interest in the cannibal kind.

Misread [Short Film Review]
Written by Chris Savage, May 17, 2016
We here absolutely love short films, and we see it as an excellent learning experience for filmmakers and also a foot in the door for that feature film. Sometimes they pay off and sometimes you may just never hit it off, but there are a few that showcase a wide range of abilities and when you see

Margo [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, May 15, 2016
A few days back I got the chance to witness the trailer for Matthew Packman’s latest feature film Margo, and while it didn’t really give anything away, which I love, it left me wanting more, it left me at heights of anticipation and I couldn’t wait to witness this one. Thankfully the feature film came

Harvest Lake [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, May 6, 2016
Scott Schirmer has been on the scene since the early 2000’s, but it was his film Found that got me hooked. Since then I’ve been following him meticulously and I’m happy to say that he has continued to carve a nice little niche for himself. His latest flick, Harvest Lake, which is available right now

[Short Film Review] ‘Heir’
Written by Chris Savage, April 23, 2016
We here have been following Richard Powell’s Heir for as long as we can remember, as the short film comes from Fatal Pictures, who certainly have an eye for all things horror. So, when we got the opportunity to check out the fourth short from Fatal Pictures, we jumped at the chance. Now, as Heir is

[Review] ‘Hush’ Puts a New Twist on Slasher Tropes
Written by Jason McDonald, April 18, 2016
Normally when a new horror film makes its debut at a festival we have to wait months or even years (in the case of the “Green Infernos”) before we can see it.  However, this time around we didn’t have too long to wait.  Even before it’s debut at SXSW Netflix announced that it would release

[Review] ‘Baskin’ is Creepy as Hell But Not Without Sin
Written by Jason McDonald, April 7, 2016
I’ve seen a few foreign horror movies in my time, but “Baskin” is my first introduction into the realm of Turkish horrors.  And when you throw something at me that is labeled as “Turkish horror”, I start imagining some pretty horrific stuff.  But, for better or worse, “Baskin” has managed to shape my expectations for Turkish

[Review] ’10 Cloverfield Lane’ is a Thrilling Claustrophobic Experience
Written by Jason McDonald, March 12, 2016
“10 Cloverfield Lane” may have had one of the most surprising advertising campaigns in recent memory.  I still remember the night when word started to get around that a mysterious new trailer suddenly dropped without any fanfare and that it carried the name “Cloverfield” with it.  It was exciting and I immediately got swept up

[Review] ‘The Corpse of Anna Fritz’ Tells a Disturbing Tale
Written by Jason McDonald, March 10, 2016
There have been plenty of films over the years that have explored the idea of what it means to be famous.  However, where most of those films deal with the cost of obtaining fame and keeping it, “The Corpse of Anna Fritz” starts where the story normally ends: with a death. “The Corpse of Anna

[Review] ‘You’re Killing Me’ Has a Lot of Heart and Blood
Written by Jason McDonald, March 7, 2016
The beauty of our new digital age is that we can reach out and touch people all over the world.  I know I’ve met people thanks to my internet excursions that I never would have in my day-to-day life.  This has changed the way we make friends, date, and hook up with people.  However, the increased

[Review] ‘Intruders’ Invades Your Home on DVD
Written by Jason McDonald, March 1, 2016
Released earlier this year in theaters and VOD “Intruders” is finally making it’s way home on DVD today.  This home invasion thriller puts an interesting spin on the old formula, but will it be enough to welcome it into your home? The Movie: “Intruders” comes by way of director Adam Schindler who makes his feature

‘The Walking Dead: Michonne’ Review
Written by Jason McDonald, February 28, 2016
Telltale returns to “The Walking Dead” well once again with a new game based on the hugely successful “Walking Dead” franchise.  This time Telltale is leaving behind their original take on the series and instead exploring an established fan-favorite character.  Does this third trip to the well produce some refreshing water or have things gotten

[Review] ‘The Witch’ Will Put a Spell on You
Written by Jason McDonald, February 20, 2016
Over the course of last year “The Witch” managed to build up a good deal of critical momentum as the film garnered rave reviews and praise from horror fans while it played in festivals.  Now it’s finally out in theaters and it’s time to see if “The Witch” was worth the wait. In “The Witch”

[Review] Southbound is a Thrilling Journey into Hell
Written by Jason McDonald, February 4, 2016
I have to admit that I was feeling a lot of conflicting emotions when I started up “Southbound.”  The premise got my interest and the trailer was very promising, but this was from the same people who brought us “V/H/S/” and “V/H/S 2.”  Both were rather divisive films and I, unfortunately, fell into the camp