HorrorMovies.ca
[Review] ‘Amityville: The Awakening’ is a Fixer-Upper
Written by Jason McDonald, October 18, 2017
What a tumultuous journey ‘Amityville: The Awakening’ has had.  After numerous push backs and delays the film is finally getting a release.  But even it’s release has been rather strange.  “Amityville” is currently available for free on Google Play (meaning you can watch it on YouTube legitimately) for a limited time.  Then on October 28th

[Review] ‘Red Christmas’ Delivers a Strange Holiday Present
Written by Jason McDonald, October 16, 2017
It’s a dangerous game when horror films try to touch on a divisive political issue.   If you go too far with it, you beat your audience over the head with the message.  And if you botch the attempt, you alienate and upset people.  However, not going far enough can also be a problem.  There are

Axeman II: Overkill [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, October 5, 2017
Just when you thought it was safe to return to Cutter’s Creek, the Axeman launches a freakin’ axe into your face! And there, the Axeman is back in full swing. From Joston Theney comes his sequel, Axeman II: Overkill and it’s bigger, badder and bloodier than the original, so buckle-up! The film sees the return of Deputy Darlene

Deadly Damsel [Short Film Review]
Written by Chris Savage, October 4, 2017
There are so many talented individuals in the indie scene that I have my eye on and two of them just so happen to be involved in this little title, Deadly Damsel. First is writer/director Ryan McCurdy who first caught my eye with his excellent short Misread, a sort of thriller which keeps you on

[Review] ‘Cult of Chucky’ Proves that the Little Guy Still Has It
Written by Jason McDonald, October 4, 2017
Hard to believe that we’re barely getting to a seventh Chucky movie.  With the speed at which franchise horror movies tend to come out, it feels like we should be on our twentieth film by now.  Thankfully, though, Chucky likes to take it slow and as a result that seems to have ensured that the

[REVIEW] ‘It’ Joins the Ranks of Stephen King Greats
Written by Jason McDonald, September 12, 2017
As the release date for “It” came closer I started to become keenly aware of how much I was anticipating its release.  It was a little concerning because I started to dread the possibility that I was setting my expectations a bit too high.  Thankfully, “It” was the rare film that not only met those

[Horror Short Review] The Quacky Slasher
Written by Chris Savage, August 16, 2017
Well, as someone who is always on the lookout for something different and unique, I see a variety of varying pieces, and I have to say that a guy in a duck mask slashing the throats of many was certainly something I never expected and certainly hearing the killer lyrics, “Quack, Quack, You’re Dead” just

[REVIEW] ‘The Dark Tower’ Takes a Few Familiar Stephen King Missteps
Written by Jason McDonald, August 8, 2017
I should kick this off by saying that “The Dark Tower” is one of those Stephen King novels I just haven’t gotten around to reading.  Perhaps if I had I would feel stronger about how the film turned out.  Still, even without having read the novel I was excited  purely because of the cast and because

The Night Watchmen [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, August 5, 2017
You know when you watch a movie that just has you on the edge of your seat the whole time? A movie that has you laughing until your cheeks hurt or with your jaw to the floor at how INSANE the special effects are? Or simply a movie that widens your eyes at how innovative

Better Watch Out [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, August 5, 2017
Christmas came early in Montreal as “Better Watch Out” made its Canadian premiere at the Fantasia International Film Festival. Chris Peckover, having written and directed “Undocumented” (2010), jumps into his second big director’s role, having also co-written “Better Watch Out” with Zack Kahn, and oh boy do they form a dynamic duo. You will NOT

Dead Shack [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, August 2, 2017
A lovely weekend getaway in a small, cozy cottage with your best friend, his hot sister, and their parents sounds like a pretty cool vacation, no? Except that the mother is really the miserable step-mother; the father is a really embarrassing (yet hilarious) drunk, and the next-door neighbor has preserved her family members as zombies

Mayhem [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, August 1, 2017
Do you work an office job? Do you hate your boss? Do you sometimes feel like flipping a table, slashing a colleague’s throat and intensely fornicating with that hot accountant from the 5th floor? Yes? No? Regardless of your answer, you’re still gonna ADORE “Mayhem”, written by Matias Caruso and directed by the insane Joe

Le Manoir [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, July 31, 2017
Slasher; hilarious; hung by his penis. Got your attention, now? Those are some of the terms I’d use to describe Tony T. Datis’ first feature film, straight outta France, “Le manoir” a.k.a. “The Mansion,” which made its North American premiere at Montreal’s Fantasia International Film Festival. Ten young adults go partying for New Year’s Eve

Game of Death [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, July 25, 2017
Move over, Monopoly, because there’s a new game on the market and people are just dying to play it. Cheesy, I know, but sometimes, cheesy is good. When over-the-top cheesiness and gore make a film entertaining, then you know you’re watching “Game of Death” which made its Canadian premiere at Montreal’s Fantasia International Film Festival.

Killing Ground [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, July 22, 2017
The Australian forest is beautifully thick, dense, and keeps you away from that stressful urban civilization. However, those qualities quickly transform into your biggest enemies when no one can hear you scream. Intense. Stressful. Gut-wrenching. Those are all terms that went through my mind after I sat through the Canadian premiere of “Killing Ground” at

[Review] ‘Castlevania’ Could Be the Video Game Adaptation We’ve Been Waiting For
Written by Jason McDonald, July 9, 2017
When it comes to translating video game properties to other forms of media, there haven’t been too many success stories.  To be fair, most video games don’t have the necessary plot to actually fill out an entire film, let alone a TV series.  However, “Castlevania” is one of those few properties that has enough lore

The Night Shift (2016) [Review]
Written by Chris Savage, July 6, 2017
Poor Vincent Rivera. Massimiliano Cerchi certainly likes leaving this dude in empty mansions, or maybe Vincent is a glutton for punishment? Either way, Vincent Rivera stars in Massimiliano Cerchi’s latest flick, The Night Shift, where he plays the role of Frank, a reluctant security guard, and to be honest, how this guy became a security guard

[Review] ‘The Mummy’ Might Unravel Universal’s Dark Universe
Written by Jason McDonald, June 12, 2017
I know the idea of Universal starting a monster universe, now known as the “Dark Universe,” was a bit divisive amongst horror fans to say the least.   However, I had some generally optimistic feelings for the idea.  I grew up on the classic Universal monsters and, even though they weren’t the best in the

Empire State of the Dead [Review]
Written by Simon Rother, March 27, 2017
Once in a while, in the horror world, you need to watch some small budget movies. They exist for multiple reasons: to debut the careers of directors and actors, to make you realize how great other movies are, but also because sometimes, you just fall on some small gems that you would never have heard

[Review] ‘Kong: Skull Island’ Shows That Kong is Still King
Written by Jason McDonald, March 14, 2017
There have been a lot of valid criticisms directed at such films like “Pacific Rim” and “Godzilla,” but I’m thrilled to see giant monster action returning to the screen.  And now the granddaddy of them all, Kong, has returned to tear things up.  Is this classic beast able to reclaim his throne or is it